RSS Feed

Competition for the urban-architectural conceptual design for the Zagreb Badel Site redevelopment

12/01/2012 by architectural competitions

The City of Zagreb as promotor, and Zagreb Society of Architects (DAZ) as organizer, are launching an open, on-line, one-stage, anonymous, ideas Competition for the urban-architectural conceptual design for the Zagreb Badel Site redevelopment.

Competition purpose and goal: to obtain a quality urban design concept that meets all the functional and economic criteria required to create a new and modern segment of the city centre, while both adding value to the wider urban area and providing a reminder of the historical development of the site. The site area should become a new factor in the definition of identity of this part of the city as well as the central point for the most relevant activities in the fields of business, tourism, hospitality, culture and art, while remaining a location providing quality everyday life environment for its inhabitants both today and tomorrow.

The competition is open to all professionals, who hold a master’s degree in architecture or have completed a five-year course of study and are graduate engineers in the field of architecture and urban planning.

Competition start date: Tuesday, 10 Jan 2012
Inquiries deadline: Wednesday, 22 Feb 2012
Entry submission deadline: Thursday, 5 April 2012, 12:00 CET

Competition brief is available at the DAZ web page:
Contact: Phone. +385 1 4816151, Fax +385 1 4816197, E-mail:

Provided that at least ten (10) competition entries, that meet all the competition and profession criteria, are received by the closing date specified above, the Competition Jury will award the following prizes, accompanied by the gross amounts specified below:

First prize: 226,800.00 HRK (approx 30,240.00 €)
Second prize: 170,100.00 HRK (approx 22,680.00 €)
Third prize: 113,400.00 HRK (approx 15,120.00 €)
Fourth prize: 56,700.00 HRK (approx 7,560.00 €)

Competition Jury
These are the seven (7) members of the Competition Jury, who have been appointed to evaluate the competition entries:
1. Zoran Boševski architect, Croatia, President of the Competition jury
2. Jadranka Veselić Bruvo, architect, Croatia, Vice president of the Competition jury
3. Prof. Tadej Glažar, architect, Slovenia
4. Prof. Ir. Francine Houben, architect, the Netherlands
5. Irena Matković, Msc, architect, Croatia
6. Silvije Novak, professor, Croatia
7. Toma Plejić, architect, Croatia

Deputy of a Competition Jury member:
Robert Jonathan Loher, architect, Croatia

Expert advisors:
1. Prof Anka Mišetić, PhD, sociologist, Croatia
2. Tamara Rogić, PhD, architect, Croatia

Technical Committee:
1. Ana Dana Beroš, architect, Croatia
2. Azra Suljić, architect, Croatia
3. Marko Trzun, architect, Croatia

Competition secretary:
Sanja Cvjetko Jerković, architect, Croatia

For additional information, see the DAZ web page:

1 Comment

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.