RSS Feed

New Aging Award 2010

16/04/2010 by architectural competitions

New Aging Award 2010
The University of Pennsylvania is launching the New Aging Award 2010 in a search for progressive architectural designs (realized or conceptual) for the elderly. With a concern that banal architecture has become a barrier exacerbating physical limitations, social isolation, and dependency, the New Aging Award is looking fordesigns that break these trends and offers a design quality that enables the elderly to lead a life of dignity.

Any architectural project designed for, or including, a single person or a group of people who are 55 and older is eligible. The designs may range from a private house to an assisted living facility, nursing home, or continuing care retirement facility. Submissions may include the work of firms, architects, designers, students, and teams.

Submission Requirements
Submissions must be uploaded to The project profile must include the following:
– A 150-250 word text description of the project
– The lead design firm or project leader
– Team members must be credited
– Please submit as many images as necessary to fully explain the project (minimum 3 images).
– the tag “NA2010” must be added as a tag to the project profile, without this tag the project will not be eligible. (Click on the “>” arrow in the teaser photo above for an example where the tag has to be entered)

Submission Fee
There is no fee to submit your projects.

The jury will be led by Bill Braham, the Interim Chair of the Department of Architecture at the University of Pennsylvania, and consist of Matthias Hollwich (Principal, HWKN), Winka Dubbeldam (Principal, Archi-Tectonics), and two additional jury members to be announced shortly.

March 26, 2010
Press Release: Award Announced, Award Submission Opens
May 3, 2010 at 11:59pm EST
Submission Deadline
May 2010
Winners Announced

The entries will be evaluated on architectural and social innovation.  There will be two award categories, one for visionary and one for realized projects, and six honorable mentions. The winners will be published in the New Aging book to be launched in the Fall of 2010 and be announced at the New Aging Conference at the University of Pennsylvania on October 1st and 2nd, 2010. All winners and honorable mentions will get two free tickets to the conference.

No Comments

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.